You are here

Shayan Sharif named Chair, Department of Pathobiology

Dr, Shayan Sharif, Ontario Veterinary College, University of GuelphDr. Shayan Sharif has been selected as the incoming Chair for the Department of Pathobiology at the University of Guelph’s Ontario Veterinary College.

Sharif has been a professor in the Department of Pathobiology since 2001. He completed his DVM at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Tehran, followed by a PhD in Immunology and Immunogenetics in Pathobiology at OVC. He received a post-doctoral fellowship to begin his post-doctoral research in Immunology at The John Robarts Institute in London, Ontario.

A professor of poultry immunology, Sharif’s research is focused on understanding the ways microbes interact with the chicken immune system. His main areas of research include immunity and vaccines to Marek’s disease, immunity to avian influenza virus and vaccine development, and development of probiotics for enhanced immune responsiveness and gut health in poultry. 

His lab is studying probiotics as an alternative to traditional antimicrobials to combat pathogens including Salmonella, Campylobacter jejuni, and Clostridium perfringens in poultry.

He leads the U of G’s Poultry Health Research Network, a network of over 60 poultry experts who study basic biology, environmental concerns, food safety, and poultry disease, nutrition and welfare. The network is a focus for research, as well as industry collaboration and outreach. 

Sharif also serves as Research Program Director, Emergency Management, for the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) partnership along with involvement in numerous research initiatives across the U of G campus.

In 2017, he was among the inaugural recipients of new University of Guelph internal awards recognizing research excellence and innovation, receiving a Research Leadership Chair. 

Sharif has mentored over 60 students graduate and undergraduate students, post-docs, research assistants, and undergraduate students through his research program. 

The appointment will be effective February 1, 2018.