You are here

Awards Subcommittee


  • Associate Dean Students
  • Representative of each department
  • Central Veterinary Students Association
  • Graduate Students Association


  • Chair: Associate Dean Students
  • Secretariat: Manager, Student Affairs

Term of Office

  • Appointed annually

To Whom Responsible

  • To the Awards Committee of Senate and to the Dean for duties not the responsibility of the Senate. Reports to the DVM Program Committee for information and comment.


  • Normally three times per semester


  • Formulates policies respecting the effective use of funds designated for undergraduate and graduate student awards for Senate approval.
  • Establishes with donors the terms and conditions of awards.
  • Supervises the administration of non-Senate awards that may be available.
  • Selects recipients of awards.
  • Supervises the administration of various faculty fellowships (Bull Fellowship; Laforet Fellowship).
  • Supervises the administration of the college bursary funds.
  • Administers selected faculty awards.
  • Periodically review student activities for the Program and make recommendations thereon to the College and Senate Awards Committees, the Dean and others appropriate.

NOTE: See also Senate By-laws, "Committee on Awards"

Current Members

  • Dr. Janet MacInnes, Chair, Pathobiology
  • Dr. Gordon Kirby, Associate Dean, Research & Graduate Affairs
  • Dr. Laura Favetta, Biomedical Sciences, Department Representative
  • Dr. Thomas Gibson, Clinical Studies, Department Graduate Representive
  • Vacant, Clinical Studies, Department Undergraduate Representative
  • Dr. Byram Bridle, Pathobiology, Department Representative
  • Dr. Jessica Gordon, Population Medicine, Department Graduate Representative
  • Dr. Terri O'Sullivan, Population Medicine, Department Undergraduate Representative
  • Ms. Melissa MacKinnon, Graduate Student Representative
  • Vacant, Undergraduate Student Representative
  • Dr. Joanne Hewson, Associate Dean, Students & Academic, ex officio
  • Ms. Elizabeth Lowenger, Manager, Student Affairs, ex officio